What It’s Like to Be A CCPE Intern

Wendy has been a CCPE intern for almost a month now. She became a CCPE intern through a collaboration with the IU Department of Pyschology and Dr. Anne Zhang’s fieldwork course. 

IMG_2174.JPGHi, my name is Wendy. I’m currently working with the CCPE team as an intern.

I decided to apply for this position because I think this is a place where I can gain valuable counseling skills and experience. I always want to find a way to help people, and I think the RESPECT + HIV rapid testing is one of the greatest ways to provide help for the community.

When I first heard that I got this position, I was so excited. I had applied for several different programs and research teams, but I think this position is the best fit for me. Back in China, we seldom talk about HIV, and the education about HIV and relating issues is limited. However, HIV is definitely one big issue that needs to be dealt with and requires more attention.

So far, I have learned a lot from this field experience. My job here is to learn the RESPECT and HIV rapid  test protocol and implement it with clients who come to us. The RESPECT intervention is a one-on-one brief counseling evidence-based practice that aims at reducing people’s risk for getting HIV.

After shadowing CCPE team members Olivia, Kira, and Brandon, I now lead the RESPECT session myself. This is the most interesting part of the field experience because I can see how my knowledge of this implementation is actually applied in practice.

I am inspired by the work that the team members have been doing, and I love being a part of this team. Everyone here is kind and friendly and knowledgeable, and they are willing to help me learn. It’s really easy to learn from such a friendly environment and it feels good that I can help people and create something positive for their future.

I think what CCPE is doing is really helpful for reducing HIV in the community. The team is working very hard to address issues regarding HIV, and it is always good to have a place in the community where you can get an HIV test and talk to someone about your concerns and risks.

Right now I haven’t decided what to do for my future career. This is also one of the reasons why I wanted to do the field experience; to explore my career path. However, I do enjoy the feeling of helping people and improving the community. I hope at the end of this experience, I can gain useful counseling skills, and have a sense of how things are going in the field. From what I’ve experienced, I can tell I have learned so many things.

 

 

 

Have a thought, question or opinion on what you read? Share here!

