The Definitive Ranking of Thanksgiving Food

Thanksgiving is right around the corner and we thought it would be a great time to discuss a very important topic: food. Get ready to pack on the pounds with the overwhelmingly delicious Thanksgiving meal that you or someone you know is about to prepare. These are my top 10 Thanksgiving foods according to what my mother and my in-laws prepare for this holiday feast!

  1. Stuffing

    stuffing
    Stuffing looks like it’s complicated, but it’s actually super easy. Recipe here!

Who doesn’t love stuffing?! I mean absolutely love it. Whoever coined the term definitely got it right because this is always what I am stuffing myself with at the end of my meal, regardless how full I am already.

  1. Broccoli Casserole

My mom makes the absolute best broccoli casserole! It has lots of cheese and is finished off with crumbly buttery Ritz crackers on top that are so light and flaky after they are baked. I could honestly eat this any time of the year, but it is definitely a Thanksgiving staple at our house.

  1. Green Bean Casserole

green-bean
Mmm fried onions. This recipe is even gluten free!

Now I know some people have mixed reviews on green bean casserole. You can make it a few different ways, and maybe some people add this or that. But I prefer to stick to the good ol’ Campbell’s soup recipe with those delicious fried French onions!

 

 

 

  1. Cheesy Potatoes

When you think about the ingredients to this dish, it seems pretty normal until the last ingredient: cubed hashbrowns, diced onions, cheese, sour cream, butter and cornflakes. Yes, I said cornflakes! They are crumbled on top with butter to give a crispy texture. Overall this is yummy and satisfying side dish!

  1. Candied Yams

So yams are actually just orange sweet potatoes, but in my house we refer to them as yams. There are different types of sweet potatoes, and the orange ones are very different from the white ones. Smothered in butter, sugar and cinnamon these are absolutely delicious! I eat them right along with my meal, although some prefer them as a dessert dish topped with marshmallows.

  1. Mashed Potatoes and Gravy

mashed-potatoes
Learn how to make yummy mashed potatoes here! Source

There is nothing like a bowl of creamed potatoes swimming in butter! While I’m sure this is not very nutritional, this is the one time of year where I give myself a pass to indulge in every side dish at Thanksgiving. Sometimes with the cream, butter and salt you don’t even need gravy, but it is always a nice addition if you decide to add some on top. Interesting side note – I just learned from my coworkers Olivia and Brandon that mashed potatoes are excellent when they are topped with chicken and noodles. I had no clue this was a thing but I will be trying it soon! Starch on starch, what could be better?

 

  1. Greens

My in-laws make some of the best greens I’ve ever had! These are definitely a comfort food, and I eat them several times a year, but on Thanksgiving, they are a great addition to the already fabulous meal.

  1. Turkey Legs

turkey
Don’t have a smoker? No problem! Here‘s a great recipe for a roasted turkey. Those legs will be just as scrumptious! 

Growing up I was not a huge turkey fan. Carved turkey can sometimes get dry, so unless gravy is on hand I prefer not to just eat it sliced. That was until I was introduced to smoked turkey legs! One year my dad decided to smoke the legs just for my sister and I, and he has been doing that every year since. Thanks Dad for re-inviting turkey back into my life!

 

 

 

  1. Pumpkin Pie

I could honestly eat pumpkin pie any time during the year, however; on Thanksgiving it has a special place in my heart. Something about the fall weather, the change of the leaves on the trees and the ambiance of the fall season in general gets me in the mood for this delicious pie.

pumpkin-pie
If you don’t want to make your own crust like this recipe calls for, we recommend using Wick’s pie crust, available in the freezer section of the grocery store. 

A big slice of this pie with a dollop of whipped topping is the perfect way to close out the Thanksgiving meal and get me ready to watch some Cowboys football – another staple in my house on Thanksgiving!

 

  1. Cornbread

Last, but certainly not least, is cornbread! The only time I usually eat cornbread is on Thanksgiving and New Years Day when my mom makes navy beans and ham. This golden, buttery goodness is the perfect addition to any Thanksgiving plate, or just to snack on later after you are done eating dinner. Make sure it’s nice and warm with a square of butter, and you are sure to fall in love.

Now that I have officially made myself beastly hungry, I can say that I am ready for November 24th to get here already! I look forward to this time of year, not only just for the food, but for the opportunity to spend time with family that I don’t have a chance to see the rest of the year. As you go off to your Thanksgiving celebrations, remember to be thankful for those around you that not only bring the best sides to the Thanksgiving meal, but also mean the world to you.

❤ Kira R.

*We are not endorsed by Betty Crocker, we just like their recipes.

Have a thought, question or opinion on what you read? Share here!

