Well, That Was Awkward

For National Awkward Moments Day, we’ve decided to share some of our best awkward moments to prove that they happen to everyone and that they (probably) won’t ruin your life.

“My sophomore year of college I lived in a dorm that had semi-private, “pod” bathrooms. The doors lock (obviously) so people don’t normally knock if the door

cat on toilet
imgflip.com

says “vacant.” So, one day I open the door to go to the bathroom and walk in on some guy from my floor on the toilet. Thankfully, I was so shocked and mortified that I didn’t even fully see his face before nervously laughing a “sorry” and running away. Three seconds later, I heard him lock the door.” – Lizzie

“When I was in middle school, I told my best guy friend I had a huge crush on this boy in my class. It was the last day of school and since you don’t really do anything besides tell people bye and goof off, I was playing cards with my crush, when my best guy friend walks into the room to say goodbye to my teacher. After he talked with my teacher for a minute, he turned to the entire class and said ‘Chloe has a crush on the guy she’s playing cards with!’ and ran out of the room. Needless to say, I was mortified and we weren’t friends after that.” – Chloè Ivana

third wheel
Viacom Media Networks | elitedaily.com

“My freshman roommate once had a guy over while I was studying. She got him ‘excited’ and then she decided to go take a shower. Meanwhile, I’m left in the room with the room with this random guy. When she comes back in, she has nothing but a towel on, and starts getting dressed, exposing herself to this guy and me. She then decided that would be the perfect time to start macking on him, while she was half naked, with me in the room. I quickly packed up my things and left to give them more privacy.” – Emily

“CCPE was at a local community college with a table set up at the student resource fair. When one gentleman came up and asked about our grant and what we do, my boss told him we work to prevent substance abuse and HIV among 13-24 year olds. The guy proceeded to ask my boss why we would want to do that. My boss responded by saying, “You know!” and the guy said, “No, actually I don’t.” So my boss responded, “For your health!” The gentleman’s reaction, I kid you not, was to respond with a “pfft” while blowing a raspberry. It was one of the strangest encounters I’ve ever been a part of.” – Olivia

awkward
Esper.com | memegenerator.net

“Our team is comprised of young professionals under the age of 30. People often mistake us for students. One time, when we were walking into a luncheon, an older man greeted us with a ‘Hey kids!’ None of us knew how to respond considering the fact that we all have a Bachelor’s degree and two of us have a Masters.” – Kira

“When I was in middle school, my friends and I were talking in one class about a teacher in another class who was kind of pervy. The teacher overheard us talking and came over to ask who we’re talking about. When we told her, she said, “That’s my brother-in-law.” Suuuuper awkward.” – Ashley

 

Have a thought, question or opinion on what you read? Share here!

